View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:31 pm



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 ESXi 5.0 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:49 pm
Posts: 1
Post ESXi 5.0
I'm interested in running ESXi 5.0 on an Intense PC.

Question 1: what is the network card that is installed on the board?

Question 2: It Seems that the 4 Gigabit NIC FACE module has intel Cards that re supposed to pe supported by ESXi, what is the price of one?

Thanks in Advance,
Chen.


Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:55 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1260
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
There is a two GBE
1. RTL8111D http://www.realtek.com.tw/products/productsView.aspx?Langid=1&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&ProdID=193
2. Intel(r) 82579 http://www.intel.com/content/dam/doc/product-brief/82579-gbe-controller-brief.pdf

Face model's NIC

IntelĀ® 82583V Gigabit Ethernet Controller http://ark.intel.com/products/41676/Intel-82583V-Gigabit-Ethernet-Controller

_________________
Gabriel Heifets

Fit-PC2/3/IntensePC support.


Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:37 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:07 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Hi, i tried to install ESXI 5.1 and 5.0 on IntencePC with dual NIC of realtek 8168.
Unfortunately ESXI detects only one of the nics :(

I need help!

Evgeniy


Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:12 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1260
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
evgeniy wrote:
Hi, i tried to install ESXI 5.1 and 5.0 on IntencePC with dual NIC of realtek 8168.


Please elaborate.

Thanks

_________________
Gabriel Heifets

Fit-PC2/3/IntensePC support.


Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:07 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Hi, I managed to solve the issue.

First, it appears that only one of the network card is Realtek. The one that is not being recognized is Intel 82579LM.

This is a solution that worked for me:
1) download tgz file from http://dl.dropbox.com/u/27246203/E1001E.tgz
2) convert tgz file to vib format with http://www.v-front.de/p/esxi5-community ... tools.html
3) upload vib into ESXI hosting server (using ssh or winSCP)
4) go into maintaince mode
5) run command: esxcli software acceptance set --level=CommunitySupported
6) run command: esxcli software vib install -v /path/e1000e-1.0.x86_64.vib
7) after installation, reboot ESXI server

Evgeniy


Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:15 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1260
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Thank you for sharing this info. I hope you'll enjoy your IntensePC :)

_________________
Gabriel Heifets

Fit-PC2/3/IntensePC support.


Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:21 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Hi,

Just received Intense PC Std and when I try to install ESXi 5.1 the machine boots after the initial Loading screen (it loads everything and it boots when the ... message appears), and it never seems to install.
Tried with SSD and HDD drives and the same happened - do I need special BIOS configuration in order to install ESXi on this device?

Thanks,
JC


Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:21 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Hi again,

Found out that my ESXi installation issue was due to beginner's guess: I have installed just 2Gb of RAM, because ESXi needs at least 2Gb....
When installing ESXi5 the installation just stalled.... when I tried to install ESXi4 I finally got the answer: it needed 2Gb but I only had 1.7Gb! I than understood that the "missing" RAM was allocated by Video card and installed additional 2Gb module and now everything is rolling!

Great machine, by the way.

Ah...and thank you evgeniy for your important post: now I have two network interfaces up and runnning!

Regards,
JC


Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:01 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:53 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Hi All,

I am trying to install ESXi 5.1 on the Intense PC Pro, but keep getting the error message below when it try to load the kernel and it just hangs there:

=============================
Memory map contains overlapping ranges
Multiboot MemMap contains overlapping range
=============================

Have anyone came across this issue?
Can someone share with me the processor configuration in the BIOS, if they have successfully installed ESXi?

currently using 2 x 8Gb Kingston KVR16S11/8 RAM, have also tried swapping different memory modules..

Thanks,

Andrew


Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:10 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:53 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: ESXi 5.0
Finally figured out the hardware compatibility issue.. after 3 days, of investigations..

For those who wants to use the Intense PC Pro as an ESXi server, don't use the new "CR_2.2.0.377 X64" firmware. You will need to downgrade to the previous version.

After downgrade the firmware to "CR_2.2.0.346 X64" I was able to install ESXi 5.1.. it still popped up with the hardware compatibility warning, but you can continue with out any issues... Rather then getting the Memory Map overlapping error, and just hangs there...

Great PC/Server ..! :)


Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:42 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.