View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:15 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 using mSATA SSD in fitlet2 
Author Message

Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 7:48 pm
Posts: 2
Post using mSATA SSD in fitlet2
I have an unused mSATA SSD that I'd like to use in a fitlet2, so I have a couple questions related to that:

The mSATA is at: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TGIVTP2/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  • if I have it in an external USB3 enclosure, can I boot the fitlet2 off of that disk with 'no' disk(s) inside the fitlet2 ?
  • what pieces do I need to add to the barebones E3950 as sold on amazon https://www.amazon.com/fitlet-FITLET2-CE3950-fitlet2-E3950-Barebone/dp/B0795V4W5G to be able to use the same mSATA drive as an internal disk ?
  • for adding wifi to the fitlet2, what pieces do I need to add to the system for this ?
  • for running headless with Linux, do I need any adaptors etc. to fake the hardware out to think it has a 1080p monitor on it ? I'm a little confused about the 'display emulator' you sell for about $10 US or so.

Box looks really interesting, so I'm trying to understand what my walkaway cost to build one up would be for the US rather than worrying about VAT etc. and international shipping.

Thanks...


Wed May 02, 2018 7:59 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 110
Post Re: using mSATA SSD in fitlet2
If you intend to have wifi module on the fitlet2, it is recommended to order it assembled straight from manufactory to have all the relevant parts including side panels with the SMA antennas.

Regarding storage, the form factor used on the fitlet2 is M.2, hence unfortunately your mSATA won't fit.
Running from an external USB storage depends on the OS capabilities

Also, fit-headless merely emulated EDID handshake between the GPU and the screen in order to utilize the PC's GPU when running remotely (headless).
There's no need for additional components.

You may order directly from us through our build to order:
http://fit-iot.com/web/buy/#fitlet2


Thu May 03, 2018 7:59 am
Profile

Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 7:48 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: using mSATA SSD in fitlet2
tamir wrote:
Also, fit-headless merely emulated EDID handshake between the GPU and the screen in order to utilize the PC's GPU when running remotely (headless).
There's no need for additional components.


I'm sorry, I didn't understand that answer. Let me try rewording the question.

If I install Ubuntu (or any other Linux) in full gui desktop mode, will the os come up at full 1080p resolution with 'no' monitor attached ? Typically I would connect in via VNC from a computer that has a monitor attached at that resolution (in my case, from a Macbook Air).


Thu May 03, 2018 10:58 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 110
Post Re: using mSATA SSD in fitlet2
below you can find a link with all the supported resolutions fit-headless product line has:

http://fit-pc.com/wiki/index.php/FAQ:fi ... _emulators

These should be the resolutions you can "pick" from the display configuration when the fit-headless is plugged in.


Sun May 06, 2018 5:34 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.