View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 No video signal on FITPC2 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:16 pm
Posts: 1
Post No video signal on FITPC2
Hello ,

We have a fit PC2 and the video output is not working we are using a DVI to VGA adapter and then we are plugin it to our display and the power of the display goes to sleep. We tried it with one of other monitors and it's not working.


Looking forward to your answer.

Best Regards,
Chistophe


Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:35 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:49 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Israel
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
Do you use DVI to VGA adapter or DVI to VGA converter?
Does your adapter/converter plug into power outlet?
How much did it cost?
Fit-PC2 has only digital output. So simple (cheap) DVI to VGA adapters will not work. You need DVI to VGA converter.


Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:46 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 58
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
I think questions like this could be avoided if the HDMI->DVI adapter that ships with Fit-PC2 would have a DVI-D connector instead of DVI-I.


Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:07 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
This is somewhat confusing...
This posting says: 'adapter' will not work, you need a 'converter'.
http://fit-pc.co.uk/FitPC2/What_Else_Do_I_Need.html says the same.
http://www.fit-pc.com/web/fit-pc2/accessories/ says 'adapter'.
http://www.fit-pc.com/web/fit-pc2/accessories/fit-vga/ says 'converter'

I bought one - from fit-pc.co.uk, but it doesn't seem to work. I assume it is a 'converter', right, not an 'adapter'? Even though it can't be plugged into a power outlet. In other words: I have bought the right thing?

Thank you.

--
Marco


Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:32 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:49 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Israel
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
If this is what you have bought:
http://www.fit-pc.com/web/fit-pc2/accessories/fit-vga/
then it should work.
Can you describe the steps you have done?


Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:07 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 2339
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
mdavids - thank you for the note. "Adapter" is indeed misleading description of fit-VGA. "Converter" is more accurate - fit-VGA is an active device that converts digital signals to analog ones.

It is now corrected in http://www.fit-pc.com/web/fit-pc2/accessories/

_________________
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
fit-PC forum admin

-------------------------


Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:55 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
yogev_ezra wrote:
If this is what you have bought:
http://www.fit-pc.com/web/fit-pc2/accessories/fit-vga/
then it should work.
Can you describe the steps you have done?


Yes, that is what i bought.

I connected it to a running Fit-pc2i rev 1.1 and a monitor that I switched on after that. Nothing. Then I powercycled the Fit-pc2i. Nothing. Then I tried all kinds of things and combinations, like disabling the powersafe option and another HDMI cable. I connected several VGA monitors, both LCD and CRT. Ultimately I connected the Fit-VGA cable to a DVD-player. Still a black screen on the VGA monitor, but this time not with the usual 'no signal' message, that I get when the cable is connected to the fit-pc2i.

I tested a bit with 'get-edid'. Output below.

It indicates that there is at least some communication on the DDC/EDID level between the monitor and the Fit-pc2i. But the screen stays black...
Are the any BIOS settings that I might try? Currently I am forced to use the default settings, because my internal BIOS battery is malfunctioning, but that is another story.

Code:
root@gw:~# get-edid | parse-edid
get-edid: get-edid version 2.0.0

   Performing real mode VBE call
   Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
   Function supported
   Call successful

   VBE version 300
   VBE string at 0x2110 "Intel(r)Poulsbo Graphparse-edid: parse-edid version 2.0.0
ics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
   Report DDC capabilities

   Performing real mode VBE call
   Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
   Function supported
   Call successful

   Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
   Monitor and video card combination supports DDC2 transfers
   0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
   Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
   Read EDID

   Performing real mode VBE call
   Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
   Function supported
   Call successful

parse-edid: EDID checksum passed.

   # EDID version 1 revision 3
Section "Monitor"
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
   Identifier "SDM-S91"
   VendorName "SNY"
   ModelName "SDM-S91"
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
   HorizSync 28-65
   VertRefresh 55-65
   # Max dot clock (video bandwidth) 110 MHz
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
   # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
   # DPMS capabilities: Active off:yes  Suspend:yes  Standby:yes

   Mode    "1280x1024"   # vfreq 60.020Hz, hfreq 63.981kHz
      DotClock   108.000000
      HTimings   1280 1328 1440 1688
      VTimings   1024 1025 1028 1066
      Flags   "+HSync" "+VSync"
   EndMode
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
   # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
   # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
EndSection


Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:59 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 2339
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
Sounds like a HW problem with the fit-VGA. Please email rma@fit-pc.com

_________________
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
fit-PC forum admin

-------------------------


Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:00 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
irads wrote:
Sounds like a HW problem with the fit-VGA. Please email rma@fit-pc.com


UPDATE: I returned the box to my reseller who confirmed the HW problem, so you where right. The reseller reimbursed me, i ordered a new box that will hopefully be delivered soon, live is good.


Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:58 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:07 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: No video signal on FITPC2
I have the same problem. I've already opened a thread on this topic.

I have 5 FIT-PC2. All behave the same way and it is not a hardware issue. It is a Windows 7 / Intel driver issue.

The two I have left on my bench were both purchased at the same time. At least one of them has driver 8.14.10.2029 but as for the other one, I uninstalled the driver without checking the version.

The funny thing is only one of the two on my desk behave in the way described in this topic such as after it says Starting Windows, it shuts-off and never comes back-on... and that's using my DVI2VGACON converter. My other three in the field always exhibits the problem.

Anyhow, I just connected my second unit and it booted just fine with that 8.14 driver. On the first one, I uninstalled the driver and install the one from << http://www.fit-pc2.com/download/win7-dr ... 101011.zip >> and it *seems* as if it had solved the issue because I can now yank the powercord on the FIT while powered-on and the monitor always comes back on.

When my other three come back from the field, I will install the newer driver on these guys and test them out because I know that they are currently causing the issue.


Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:13 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.