XP installed, no internet -- please help!

Post freely any questions you have about fit-PC2
RonM

XP installed, no internet -- please help!

Post by RonM »

Hi there,

I have been using a FitPC2 for several years now, as a music server. I bought it diskless and installed XP on my own 500gb drive. I have now upgraded to a 1 tb drive, and xp installed successfully.

However, I am getting no internet connection, despite ethernet connection. I don't know what to do. Is there a special driver package I need to install? I don't remember doing that before, but maybe I did.

Please help!

Ron

RonM

Re: XP installed, no internet -- please help!

Post by RonM »

Installing the ethernet driver (which location I found from an old post) solved the internet problem. However, the next seemingly intractable problem is that I am unable to do an update -- I installed XP SP2, and need SP3. Windows updates just will not work, even though all services appear to be set up correctly. I installed the chipset driver, but haven't felt a need to do the video drivers, everything is working that way.

However, not being able to install SP3 is a major problem. The windows update process seems to start, and throws an error message saying it couldn't do it. The error number brings up a series of suggestions about services, all of which I've followed. No luck.

I think it might be something specific to the Fit -- if anyone has ideas, would be pleased to see them.

R.

Will.Rubin

Post by Will.Rubin »

No guarantees of course but years ago (but not on a fit-pc) I took the opposite route and slipstreamed XP w/ SP3 and installed that way rather than trying to build up from the base XP. Search for nLite slipstream XP. There's the nLite site itself and a few tutorials returned in the search results.

gabrielh
Site Admin

Post by gabrielh »

1. Please check your system time. Some update errors caused by outdated system time.