View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:56 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:08 am
Posts: 42
Post My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
I'm having serious trouble with time keeping on my machine (using Debian testing). I'm not talking about a slow drift: it can easily lose more than 30min per hour. Here is an example session:

Quote:
# (export TZ=UTC LANG=C; while sleep 60; do echo $(su - monnier -c "ssh fmsmemgm date"; hwclock; date); done)
Wed Apr 21 15:27:35 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:27:36 2010 -0.328802 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:27:35 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 15:30:35 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:30:36 2010 -0.172800 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:30:35 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 15:36:38 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:36:39 2010 -0.547803 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:31:38 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 15:52:41 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:52:42 2010 -0.703776 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:32:41 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 15:53:44 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:53:45 2010 -0.594683 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:33:44 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 15:59:47 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 15:59:48 2010 -0.641850 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:34:47 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 16:00:49 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 16:00:51 2010 -0.813433 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:35:50 UTC 2010
Wed Apr 21 16:11:52 UTC 2010 Wed Apr 21 16:11:54 2010 -0.985030 seconds Wed Apr 21 15:36:53 UTC 2010
#


According to the "sleep 60", the loop should run about once per minute, but it sometimes ends up waiting five minutes or more. I'm running ntpd on this machine. Have also tried openntpd but it did not help.

I do not see anything relevant in the syslog files. Dmesg sometimes gives me tons of "set_rtc_mmss: can't update from NN to MM", but not always.

The weird thing is that this exact same Debian installation was working perfectly fine at the very same location (tho on different hardware: I just took out the drive, replaced the big tower with the tiny Fit-PC2 and replugged the disk). So my suspicion is on the Fit-PC2.

Has someone seen something like that?


Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
Hi,

i have the same problem here.

Have a look at this thread:

http://www.fit-pc2.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=512&start=1&hilit=clock+lag

I send my FitPC back to Compulab for further investigation on this.

Have a nice day.

redada


Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:24 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 2340
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
See viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1595

_________________
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
fit-PC forum admin

-------------------------


Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:43 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:08 am
Posts: 42
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time

I'm glad to see it's not that I was doing something silly.
But w.r.t to the information in the above topic, my tests indicate that even disabling DPMS altogether doesn't help, and as mentioned earlier enabling NTPD didn't help either (because the instability of the clock is much larger than what NTPD is designed to handle).


Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:40 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 2340
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
Did you try changing C-States in BIOS to GV3 only ?
See viewtopic.php?f=11&t=512

_________________
-------------------------
Irad Stavi
fit-PC forum admin

-------------------------


Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:42 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:08 am
Posts: 42
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
irads wrote:
Did you try changing C-States in BIOS to GV3 only ?
See http://fit-pc2.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=512


I first tried to keep C-states but disable the "extended C-states", but that did not help. Then I disabled the C-states altogether (keeping GV3-only) and it seems to work correctly now. I also feel like it fixed a few other minor/vague issues I've had.

An interesting observation I've made is that (when I bump into this C-state bug), the time loss is almost always 299s. So it looks like occasionally it gets into a C-state and stays stuck there for 5 minutes. An interesting consequence is that a cron job that readjusts the time every minute is not sufficient, especially it won't prevent the watchdog from rebooting the machine (since 5min > 255s, as I have discovered after enabling the watchdog).


Sun May 02, 2010 5:17 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:02 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
From my part, WinXP on Fit-PC was running fine since 2010 to now...
... today, even after many restart, windows clock is too fast (around 1s each 5).

I don't understand why there is no BIOS update or patch for this problem :|

Edit:
I've found two help :
1) ClockMon tools is a program that synchronize windows clock with RTC clock (http://www.softdevlabs.com/ClockMon/ClockMon.html)
2) Someone at answers.yahoo.com (http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 006AAMzPcY) has wrote this :
Quote:
1. Start->Run cmd.exe
2. net stop w32time
3. w32tm.exe /unregister
4. w32tm.exe /register
5. net start w32time


Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:43 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:38 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
I have the same issue

I use my fitpc for astronomy and I need a very accurate clock. With ClockMon I can sync it every minute but that still leaves me up to 5 seconds out at any time which presents problems.

I have tried the register/unregister routine suggested to no avail.

Surely there is some other fix??

Pete


Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:40 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1260
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
Have you tried the solution advised in the first post on that topic?

_________________
Gabriel Heifets

Fit-PC2/3/IntensePC support.


Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:38 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: My Fit-PC2 can't keep the time
I've not been able to check the Bios as I run my fit remotely using VNC ie no monitor or keyboard.

I will check the status this week sometime.

I do find it odd that this has started only recently. I have read that the CMOS battery may be the culprit though the RTC looks like it keeps very regular time. Can you shed any light on this?

Pete


Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:38 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.