fit-PC Users Forum
https://www.fit-pc.com/forum/

Audio device?
https://www.fit-pc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=4766
Page 1 of 1

Author:  faceless [ Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:06 am ]
Post subject:  Audio device?

Hi all

Has anyone managed to get audio working from Linux? I have alsa installed, every channel unmuted and have run speaker-test on every device in the system but no sound. I have a standard 3.5mm jack plugged into the socket just outside of the power connector, and this is under recent Ubuntu.

Any ideas?

Author:  gabrielh [ Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

What is the OS do you use? Is it Linux Mint, Ubuntu, or some other Linux distributions?

Author:  faceless [ Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

Hi Gabriel - thanks for getting back. It's Ubuntu 12.10.

Linux fit 3.5.0-21-generic #32-Ubuntu SMP Tue Dec 11 18:51:59 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Author:  gabrielh [ Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

I suggest you to install the pulseaudio utility and to choose the coresponding profile to your output desire (analog/HDMI)

Author:  vtailor [ Mon May 27, 2013 7:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

You run 'aplay -l' and discover that the sound device is called SB:

bash-4.2# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
bash-4.2

You then can get the following /etc/asound.conf:

pcm.Generic { type hw; card Generic; }
ctl.Generic { type hw; card Generic; }
pcm.SB { type hw; card SB; }
ctl.SB { type hw; card SB; }
pcm.!default pcm.SB
ctl.!default ctl.SB

You then run alsamixer and adjust it to raise the volumes of < Master > and < Front > equally, and save the result as 'alsactl save'.

Result: Gorgeous sound.

Author:  vtailor [ Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

However, chasing HDMI operation in Linux leads to a bugzilla bug page in which it becomes clear that AMD has HDMI problems with related chipsets. One user suggested unplugging the HDMI cable, then re-plugging it to get HDMI working. I'll tell you in advance that does not work on the T-40N in the fit-pc3 basic, but you do get some interesting sounds through the HDMI connection in the process. Herewith, unplug and re-plug the HDMI cable as a shell script doxrandrswitch.sh:

xrandr --output HDMI-0 --off
xrandr --auto

followed by dmesg | tail:

====================================================
bash-4.2# sh doxrandrswitch.sh
bash-4.2# dmesg | tail
[ 1334.652240] Raw EDID:
[ 1334.652244] 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 04 69 fd 22 03 01 01 01
[ 1334.652247] 10 17 01 03 80 30 1b 78 2a 2a c5 a4 56 4f 9e 28
[ 1334.652251] 03 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.652254] ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.652257] ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.652260] ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.652263] ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.652265] ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 1334.653500] [drm:radeon_dvi_detect] *ERROR* HDMI-A-1: probed a monitor but no|invalid EDID
bash-4.2#

==========================================================

You do hear a click though.

Author:  vtailor [ Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Audio device?

I downloaded the latest fglrx from AMD directly and installed it on my Slackware fit-pc3 partition. At the moment, I am having no-problem HDMI sound from the xmms music player, and will no doubt get flash to follow soon.

There is a "recent" article in Phoronix to the effect that the author of the radeon.ko kernel module deliberately shut HDMI off, and he is "considering" re-enabling it. Until then, the generic kernel modules and X drivers will not produce HDMI sound, and you need to resort to installing fglrx.

P. S. This is a 32-bit box, the 64-bit version was ruining the hard drive.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/