View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:55 pm



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Power up issue 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 4
Post Power up issue
Hello.

From time to time, I'm not able to turn Intense PC on. I press the power button, but nothing happens. WOL also doesn't works in this case.
To solve this issue, I need to unplug power adapter and wait untill led will off.

This problem happnes when Intense PC is off or in the suspend mode!

The bios version is the latest 2.2.0.377.


Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:42 am
Profile
Post Re: Power up issue
Hi,
From what I understand sometimes your machine doesn't respond to power button, but only when you disconnect and connect the power. Please confirm.

Power reconnect will always work as Intense PC has auto-on functionality.
Regarding the issue - please consider RMA as the power button might be damaged.

Thanks


Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:46 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: Power up issue
mbirger wrote:
From what I understand sometimes your machine doesn't respond to power button, but only when you disconnect and connect the power. Please confirm.
Power reconnect will always work as Intense PC has auto-on functionality.
Regarding the issue - please consider RMA as the power button might be damaged.



Yes. Sometimes, I'm not able to turn on or wake up Intense PC with the power button. I press it multiple times, but nothing happens. Please note, that WOL in this case also doesn't work!

I'm absolutely sure, that power button is fine and this is not its problem.
As after power reconnection power button become works fine.


Wed Nov 20, 2013 7:02 am
Profile
Post Re: Power up issue
Please let me check this.


Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:24 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: Power up issue
OK. Can I do something to help?


Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:24 am
Profile
Post Re: Power up issue
1.What is your HW configuration (HDD ,mSATA, etc...)?
2.What is the BIOS timestamp?
3.What is the steady state of not-waking scenario (SLEEP mode ,etc)?


Thu Nov 28, 2013 1:34 pm

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: Power up issue
mbirger wrote:
1.What is your HW configuration (HDD ,mSATA, etc...)?

2.5" SSD, Model=KINGSTON SVP200S37A60G, FwRev=502ABBF0
FH PCIe slot is empty
LH wifi replaced with Qualcomm Atheros AR9462
16GB RAM: 2x KHX1600C9S3L/8G 1600 MHz

mbirger wrote:
2.What is the BIOS timestamp?

Please read my top message.
Version: CR_2.2.0.377 X64
Release Date: 04/10/2013

mbirger wrote:
3.What is the steady state of not-waking scenario (SLEEP mode ,etc)?

Please read my top message.
power off or sleep mode.


Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:11 pm
Profile
Post Re: Power up issue
Two possible cases where the system cannot get from sleep, unless power is removed.

1. Please be aware that if your system is in sleep state and while that phase you have unwanted power loss, your system will not be able to wake unless you unplug/plug the power.

This is because sleep (S3) is a suspend to RAM state, when all but RAM circuits are powered. If it losses power the system cannot wake as it sees garbage in RAM. Situation that requires power disconnect/connect.

2. Another possible reason for that is that some SSD devices cannot wake the system from sleep or other low power states.
Please try to replace the storage and check the behavior.


Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:24 am

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:59 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Power up issue
Hi,

I have the same problem. Sometimes (with probability 0.1 or something) I'm not able to boot up my IPC. It does not matter if I power it on with a hardware button or WOL, it also does not matter if it is suspended to disk or switched off completely.

When it happens I can see that it is powered on (LED, USB, DisplayPort, etc), but it won't boot no matter how long I wait, I don't see a BIOS splash, OS bootloader, etc.

The only thing I can do is to power it off with the power button and then power it on again (I don't need to unplug the power).

The problem is that sometimes there is no one at home to do the task when I'm powering it on remotely.

I'm using the latest BIOS revision.


Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:56 am
Profile
Post Re: Power up issue
What system do you have (PN) and what FACE module?
In general, auto power-on should deal with cases of power failures and power on the system automatically. Please try to perform BIOS reset:
http://www.fit-pc.com/wiki/index.php/Intense_PC_Troubleshooting

If after the above steps you will still experience power-on issues please consider RMA:
http://www.fit-pc.com/web/support/rma/


Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:13 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.