View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:08 pm



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 [SOLVED] fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:39 pm
Posts: 3
Post [SOLVED] fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
Hi there,

i recently received my j3455 fitlet2 and a dual-nic FACET Card.
After i´ve installed RAM, an M.2 SSD and the FACECT Card, i noticed, that
the additional NICs aren´t recognized at all (tried FreeBSD and a current Ubuntu Linux)

I´ve checked that the FACET Card is plugged in correctly several times and even tried booting without the M.2 SSD attached (from USB)

However, the additional NICs do not seem to get recognized at all.
The two built-in NICs and everything else works as fine.

Is there anything to change e.g. within the BIOS for the FACET Card to be recognized?

kind regards

nat


Last edited by natranuka on Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:25 am, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:02 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 400
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
This issue has been forwarded to the relevant project leader and is being investigated.
In order to track the issue for that machine, please a supply a Serial number.
Also, Please perform the following tests:

1. Format the Disk-on-Key (DOK) to FAT32 file system
2. Download the LAN test Package:
http://fit-pc.com/download/fitlet2/bios ... ackage.zip
3. Extract the files from the package and copy them to the prepared DOK
4. Connect the DOK to the tested fitlet2
5. Power up the fitlet2
6. Press the DEL key during the boot until the BIOS Setup appears
7. Browse to the Save & Exit menu
8. Click on the Launch EFI Shell from filesystem device option
9. The system will boot to the EFI Shell, and after 4 seconds the
automatic script will start
10. The script will find the Storage Device with LAN test applications
11. Type the following command: eeupdate64e.efi
12. Send me the screenshot of the command's output


Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:48 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:00 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
I have the exact same issue with FreeBSD 11.1 (pfSense 2.4.2). The LAN FACET is not recognized by the Intel igb driver. When attaching network cables to the ethernet ports the lights switch on.

When running 'pciconf -lv':
Code:
none10@pci0:1:0:0:      class=0x020000 card=0x00008086 chip=0x15328086 rev=0x03 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
none11@pci0:4:0:0:      class=0x020000 card=0x00008086 chip=0x15328086 rev=0x03 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet


So it seems that FreeBSD sees the devices but the igb driver is not finding them.

I will get back to you with the eeupdate64e.efi output later.


Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:08 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:39 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
thanks for the quick response.
i´ve followed the steps and attached a screenshot of the commands output.

Two NICs are represented as "I211 Gigabit Network Connection" and two just say "I211 Blank OTP Device"

Intel Docs say that the Items with
- DeviceID 1539 ("I211 Gigabit Network Connection") are "programmed" and Devices with
- DeviceID 1532 are "not programmed/factory default"


device S/N is 1171003-01741 if that helps you track down the issue.


Attachments:
File comment: EFI Shell Screenshot
efi_scrshot.jpg
efi_scrshot.jpg [ 70.25 KiB | Viewed 3258 times ]
Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:08 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:10 pm
Posts: 157
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
natranuka wrote:
thanks for the quick response.
i´ve followed the steps and attached a screenshot of the commands output.

Two NICs are represented as "I211 Gigabit Network Connection" and two just say "I211 Blank OTP Device"

Intel Docs say that the Items with
- DeviceID 1539 ("I211 Gigabit Network Connection") are "programmed" and Devices with
- DeviceID 1532 are "not programmed/factory default"


device S/N is 1171003-01741 if that helps you track down the issue.


Hello,

I sent the private message with instructions how to program the blank LAN controllers.

_________________
Leonid Firdman


Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:11 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:39 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
Flashing the empty controllers resolved the issue for me after reboot.
LAN Interfaces now work as expected. :D

Thank you, and happy 2018.


Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:25 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:56 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
Leonid wrote:
I sent the private message with instructions how to program the blank LAN controllers.
I have the same problem - just got my fitlet2 with the LAN FACET card, and pfSense 2.4.2 can't see the interfaces on it. Could you please PM me the instructions, too?


Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:02 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:00 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: [SOLVED] fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
Here's the output of eeupdate64e.efi for my facet lan card. Seems to be the same issue. Requesting also instructions how to flash the LAN controllers.


Attachments:
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg [ 308.44 KiB | Viewed 3172 times ]
Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:09 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:10 pm
Posts: 157
Post Re: [SOLVED] fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
asdf wrote:
Here's the output of eeupdate64e.efi for my facet lan card. Seems to be the same issue. Requesting also instructions how to flash the LAN controllers.


Hello,

I sent the private message with instructions how to program the blank LAN controllers.

_________________
Leonid Firdman


Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:30 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:10 pm
Posts: 157
Post Re: fitlet2 does not recognize LAN FACET Card
red wrote:
Leonid wrote:
I sent the private message with instructions how to program the blank LAN controllers.
I have the same problem - just got my fitlet2 with the LAN FACET card, and pfSense 2.4.2 can't see the interfaces on it. Could you please PM me the instructions, too?


Hi,

We need the screenshot with the output of the eeupdate64e application as described above.

_________________
Leonid Firdman


Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:44 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.