View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 6:58 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Known issues with dual channel memory mode? 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:16 pm
Posts: 3
Post Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
I've got one of the very early model barebones dual core i7 models (IPC-C3517V-WB-FM4U). I ordered a few sticks of Corsair XMS3 8GB (1x8GB) DDR3 1333 MHz (PC3 10666) Laptop Memory (CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9) to install into the device. Hard drive is an intel 520 SSD. OS is Ubuntu 12.04.

When running two sticks of memory for 16gb, I have big stability problems in Linux... Running a memtest for an extended period of time shows many memory errors and eventually just reboots the system. Taking out the second channel it runs perfectly. I tried three different memory sticks, and also tried alternating the slot that was occupied, but it didn't seem to make any difference. The only way to run it stably is with 8GB / one stick

Has anybody had similar troubles? Is this a known issue that will be fixed in a future bios update?

Thanks
supz


Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:28 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1260
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
Dear Supz

Thank you for choosing IntensePC, and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by this issue. As I see, you have performed detailed tests to determinate the root of the issue. Therefore, upon the results provided by you, we are facing an abnormal IntensePC behavior. I suggest you to consider RMAing the unit. If you need additional information, please contact me directly by PM .

Best Regards

_________________
Gabriel Heifets

Fit-PC2/3/IntensePC support.


Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:43 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:42 am
Posts: 49
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
supz, did the RMA resolve your issue? I'm experiencing the same behaviour with my MintBox 2.


Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:54 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 5:16 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
hwmartin wrote:
supz, did the RMA resolve your issue? I'm experiencing the same behaviour with my MintBox 2.

Unfortunately it did not. I'm pretty sure the RAM I was using may not have been a close enough match or something to that extent. I had planned to order some new high performance RAM meant for dual channeling, but never got around to it


Sat Jan 11, 2014 8:15 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:29 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
I was really glad to find this post. I am experiencing what I believe to be the same issue with the same RAM.

I also have an SSD and run Ubuntu 13.10.

The RAM I am having problems with is the same kind:

Corsair 8GB (2x 4GB)
1333mhz PC3-10666 204-pin DDR3 SODIMM
Laptop Memory Kit CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9
Unbuffered CL 9 SODIMM Memory
9-9-9-24 1.5V

I had errors on memtest with the first set and then the second set that I RMA'd with Corsair. I have uploaded a photo of the memtest with errors. The issue definitely seems to be something to do with the Mintbox 2, the same issue as described by supz. It seems that there is something picky about the Mintbox 2 with respect to memory. This is something, however, that is not part of the spec.

The Mintbox 2 spec is:

2x SO-DIMM 204-pin DDR3 SDRAM memory slots
Up to 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR3-1333/1600

Correct me if I am wrong, but this memory should work with the Mintbox 2.

So, my questions are:
1. Would an RMA of the Mintbox 2 solve this problem and allow me to use this memory?
2. Or, is it the case that I paid $79.99 for memory that I can't use and can't return?
3. What recourse do I have if #2 is indeed true?
4. What kind of RAM (specifically) works in the Mintbox 2?

Thanks!

PS I am otherwise very happy with the device!


Attachments:
File comment: memtest with errors
IMG_20140226_145147_1_small.jpg
IMG_20140226_145147_1_small.jpg [ 335.19 KiB | Viewed 8120 times ]
Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:04 am
Profile
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
As stated in spec:
2x SO-DIMM 204-pin DDR3 SDRAM memory slots
Up to 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR3-1333/1600

We're haven't seen in our lab memories that have incompatibility issues yet. Compulab offered SO-DIMM modules shown below:

2GB DDR3, SODIMM-204, PC3-10600/12800, 1,333/1,600Mhz:
Mfg Mfg PN
ADATA AD3S1333C2G9-[B|R]
Apacer 78.A2GC9.AF0
Apacer 78.A2GCJ.AF00C
Crucial CT25664BC1339
DSL D3SE56081XH12AA
Elixir M2S2G64CB88B5N-CG
Elixir M2S2G64CB88G5N-DI
Hynix HMT325S6BFR8C-H9N0
Hynix HMT325S6CFR8C-H9N0
Hynix HMT325S6EFR8C-H9N0
Hynix HMT325S6EFR8C-PBN0
Kingston KVR1333D3S8S9/2GBK
MICRON MT4KTF25664HZ-1G6E1
MICRON MT8JSF25664HZ-1G4D1
Nanya M2S2G64CB88G4N-DI
SAMSUNG M471B5673FH0-CH9
Transcend JM1333KSN-2G


4GB DDR3, SODIMM-204, PC3-10600/12800, 1,333/1,600Mhz:
Mfg Mfg PN
ADATA AD3S1600W4G11(-B)
Apacer 78.B2GC9.AF1
Apacer 78.B2GCN.4200C
Crucial CT51264BC1339
DSL D3SE12081XH12AA
Elixir M2S4G64CB8HB5N-CG
Elixir M2S4G64CB8HG5N-CG
Hynix HMT351S6BFR8C-H9N0
Hynix HMT351S6CFR8C-PBN0
Hynix HMT351S6EFR8C-PBN0
Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G(BK)
MICRON MT16JSF51264HZ-1G4D1
SAMSUNG M471B5273BH1-CH9


8GB DDR3, SODIMM-204, PC3-10600/12800, 1,333/1,600Mhz:
Mfg Mfg PN
Apacer 78.C2GCM.AT30C
Apacer 78.C2GCN.4230C
Crucial CT102464BF1339
Crucial CT102464BF160B
DSL D3SE12082XH12AA
Hynix HMT41GS6MFR8C-H9N0
Hynix HMT41GS6MFR8C-PBN0
Kingston KVR1333D3S9/8G
MICRON MT16JTF1G64HZ-1G4D1
MICRON MT16JTF1G64HZ-1G6D1
SwissBit SGN08G64B3BB2SA-CCRT


Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:05 am

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:42 am
Posts: 49
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
As mbirger states CompuLab is unaware of any incompatibilities with the IPC and memory. However community testing has shown that this is not the case, the IPC is incredibly picky about memory.

I went through the same experience until I purchased a kit that was certified to work by CompuLab. My experience with memory incompatibility is here: viewtopic.php?f=95&t=5216

@blackbox: I RMA'd my first unit to CompuLab. The replacement unit had the same incompatibility. You will not get your memory to work. I would suggest selling it to someone with a less picky computer and purchasing a kit listed by mbirger as compatible.

I purchased the Crucial CT102464BF1339 from Amazon and it works as expected.


Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:42 pm
Profile
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
Intense PC machines are very robust in terms of RAM memories!

But please be sure you purchase the memories from a reliable sources - best from manufacturer itself or authorized distributors.
There are many online dealers that sell refurbished (no one throws them away), RMA'd memories or simply products that use bad-quality DRAM chips. When you buy online, many times you don't have any idea what is the history of the product and when it comes to electronic equipment it is extremely important to remember.


Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:27 pm

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:42 am
Posts: 49
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
mbirger wrote:
Intense PC machines are very robust in terms of RAM memories!

But please be sure you purchase the memories from a reliable sources - best from manufacturer itself or authorized distributors.
There are many online dealers that sell refurbished (no one throws them away), RMA'd memories or simply products that use bad-quality DRAM chips.


I agree. If you purchase compatible memory the Intense PC is very robust. I've had no errors since I installed a compatible kit. I don't think anyone is questioning the reliability of the Intense PC with compatible memory. We are simply stating that in our experience, the Intense PC is quite picky about which memory kits it will operate with.

I don't think anyone on this forum is buying their memory out of the back of a truck. I know that I purchased my memory from NewEgg and Amazon, two VERY well known and reputable online retailers who are authorized resellers for brands such as G.SKILL and Corsair. I was suggesting that blackbox sell his current memory and purchase compatible memory.

I think the issue here is that people are purchasing memory based on the specifications published on CompuLab's website, which state unequivocally:
Quote:
2x SO-DIMM 204-pin DDR3 SDRAM memory slots
Up to 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR3-1333/1600


And then finding out after they've purchased memory based on the published specification that it's incompatible.

mbirger wrote:
When you buy online, many times you don't have any idea what is the history of the product and when it comes to electronic equipment it is extremely important to remember.

I think I bought my MintBox 2 online... ;)


Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:29 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Known issues with dual channel memory mode?
After an RMA, Fit PC now has my Mintbox 2 and the non-functioning 16gb of Corsair RAM for testing in their lab. That RAM, btw, was purchased from Amazon where I also bought my Mintbox 2.

They were really good sports about it. They sent me back a Mintbox 2 with 16gb of functioning Crucial RAM.

Although this is just speculation, judging from the post by mbirger, it seems like maybe the picky RAM issue doesn't affect all Mintbox 2 devices.

Thanks for your post hwmartin, your analysis of the problem is spot on.


Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:02 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.